The winner of the Eurovision Song Contest has been announced

3 Min Read

Switzerland has won the Eurovision Song Contest.

Swiss entry Nemo stormed the competition with the song ‘The Code’ and walked away with 591 points – a combination of a jury vote and a public vote.

But during Nemo’s victory performance at the end of the four-hour show, the singer accidentally dropped the microphone-shaped glass trophy, injuring his thumb.

“Not only did I break ‘The Code,’ I broke the trophy,” Nemo said at the post-show press conference, where their hand was wrapped in a bandage. “I also broke my thumb. But I have a new one [trophy] so technically I have two now.

The non-binary singer – the first Swiss Eurovision winner since Celine Dion won in 1988 – received the trophy from last year’s winner, Swedish singer Loreen.

Croatian entry Baby Lasagna came second with 547 points at the 2024 competition, followed by Ukraine’s Alyona Alyona and Jerry Heil with 453, France’s Slimane with 445 and Israel’s Eden Golan with 375.

The United Kingdom, represented by singer and “It’s a Sin” actor Olly Alexander, finished in 18th place, receiving 46 points from the jury and zero points from the audience.

Croatia won the most public votes – with 337 points from viewers at home – followed by Israel, which received 323 points, and Ukraine, which received 307 points.

This year’s competition took place in Malmö, Sweden, hosted by Swedish comedian Petra Mede and actor Malin Akerman.

Courtesy of the European Broadcasting Union

25 countries performed during the grand final. There were originally going to be 26 participants, but the Dutch entry, Joost Klein, was disqualified at the last minute after a Swedish crew member complained about his behavior backstage. Swedish police are reportedly investigating.

See also  Donald Trump Rages Over Court Sketch of Him Asleep: Report

While many hoped ABBA would reunite for the event – ​​which marks the 50th anniversary of the band winning the show with their breakthrough hit ‘Waterloo’ – the quartet only deigned to appear live from London as their ‘Voyage’ avatars. A trio of former Eurovision winners – Charlotte Perrelli, Carola Häggkvist and Conchita Wurstthen – appeared on stage to sing ‘Waterloo’.

Other historic Swedish acts who did perform live included Björn Skifs who sang his smash hit ‘Hooked on a Feeling’ – which went to number 1 in the US 50 years ago before being given a new lease of life in 2016’s ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’. – and Alcazar, who have competed to become the Swedish Eurovision entry a number of times in recent decades, but never made it. The 2023 Swedish winner Loreen also returned to perform. Meanwhile, Victoria, the Crown Princess of Sweden, opened the show with a pre-recorded VT filmed at her royal residence.

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *